from here you can see the entire city

“The city, however, does not tell its past, but contains it like the lines of a hand, written in the corners of the streets, the gratings of the windows, the banisters of the steps, the antennae of the lightning rods, the poles of the flags, every segment marked in turn with scratches, indentations, scrolls”

Italo Calvino Invisible Cities

The Neve Zedek tower. A lot of people think it’s ugly. I think it’s beautiful.

And yes, my love of Italo Calvino’s Invisible Cities continues.

17 comments on “from here you can see the entire city”

  1. Thru your eyes – it’s beautiful!!!!

  2. That’s not photography. That’s art. You rock :)

  3. I beg to differ with Calvino – the city does tell its past if one is a palm reader :} You have photographed the building rising from weeds or wild brush (or at least appears that way) and have made it light and airy in the same tones as the sky – yes, you do like it. Is it me or have your images become lighter in feeling overall? You communicate inner states so very well…

  4. Love your perspective, the building does look like it is rising up. I really like the texture on this one because it matches you’re text perfectly.

  5. Your affection shines through in this image. It’s really a pleasant shot, and I agree with daina that your shots and your moods mesh well.

  6. Thanks for the comments :)

    daina – you’ve given me something to think about…I hadn’t thought about it at all and I wonder if you’re right? Hmmm…

  7. i love the quote, marries perfectly with the image.

  8. A dynamic and beautifully composed image. As usual I like your unique processing.

  9. david – thanks, I liked it too – I’m really loving the Invisible Cities book.

    Michael – Thank you, much appreciated :)

  10. i’m not sure about the building. i think any building can be beautiful in the right circumstances. you’ve made this one beautiful.

  11. belle contre plongée.. la végétation à l’assaut de la cité ;)

  12. grant – thank you :) A lot of people protested about this building because they said that they don’t like towers. I like them a lot – I used to live in one and loved the amazing view, and they’re good for housing a lot of people without taking up ground space…

    flo, merci! Maybe the vegetation will take over the city :)

  13. Oh it’s stunning Cat, I guess it’s all about the way you look at things and the way they move you. The view is great and your processing spot on – I love it

  14. The image is lovely, evocative, ambivalent.

    I wanted so much to hate this tower. I remember all the protests when they were planning to build it, even have some interesting photographic artifacts of the time — images of Gutman drawings superimposed on walls, etc. But the fact is, like those other awful towers — what my daughter calls “the square, circle and triangle” — I think this one is growing on me. At least from the outside. And if Tel Aviv has to grow “up” (as it inevitably must), this is not such a bad idea.

  15. Lovely textures across the sky, the yellow is flying around the composition and makes it a future scene. Regards.

  16. Barbara, thanks! I wish I had seen the Gutman images. I used to live at the top of the Barbican (if you know it) and so I developed a love of towers – plus people have to live somewhere, and I think this tower is built well and tastefully. Have you been to the observatory on the top of the (I think) “circle”? The view is incredible…

    conflagratio, thank you – I’m really glad you liked it…

  17. Excellent framing; splendid colors and processing.


Leave a Reply

